RC18-Asian and Pacific Studies to celebrate 35th Anniversary

at Madrid 2012 IPSA World Congress


Since its establishment at the 1976 IPSA World Congress in Edinburgh, the Research Committee on Asian and Pacific Studies (RC-18) has organized panels for every world congress and held international roundtable conferences in various locations.


The first International Roundtable Conference was held in 1978 in Chicago. The first panel on Asian Studies was organized in 1979 at the Moscow World Congress of IPSA.


During 2010-2011, RC18 held an "International Roundtable Conference on Central Asia in the 21st Century" at Ball State University in Muncie, Indiana (USA). The Asian and Pacific Studies sessions will include 13 panels for the 22nd World Congress of IPSA in Madrid, Spain in 2012.


The RC-18 has lost two senior members in 2010- 2011: Dr. Robert Scalapino, Director East Asia Study Institute of the University of California, was a paper-giver in the first International Roundtable Conference of RC 18 in 1978.  Dr. Loretta Makasier Sicat, served as Secretary of RC18 and passed away in 2010. She was a Professor of Political Science at the University of the Philippines and President of the Political Science Association of the Philippines.  Both were prominent Political Scientists, specializing in Asian Studies. They will be always in our memory.


Dr. Angelin Chang, Professor of Cleveland State University, was selected as the new Secretary of RC18 to fill the vacancy. She is a life member of IPSA and she has participated in the World Congress of IPSA since 1985.  She has contributed excellent assistance for the organization of panels of RC18 for the 22nd World Congress.


RC18 plan to celebrate its 35th Anniversary of its establishment, during the 22nd World Congress of IPSA in Madrid, July 8-12, 2012.


The organization of the RC 18 is as follows:

Chair: Teh-Kuang Chang, Ball State University, USA

Vice Chair: Haroon Khan, Henderson State University, USA

Secretary: Angelin Chang, Cleveland State University, USA


The 12 Board Members include the following:


Mehrigiul Ablezova, American University, Kyrgyzstan

Malin Åkebo, Umeå University, Sweden

Marceli Burdelski, University of Gdańsk, Poland

Angelin Chang, Cleveland State University, USA

Taekyoon Kim, Waseda University, Japan

Lee Lai To, National University of Singapore

Sadig Malki, King Abdullah Aziz University, Riyadh, Saudi Arabia

Luis Ernesto Nava Molero, Simón Bolívar University, Venezuela

Gonzalo S. Paz, George Washington University, Argentina

Elmira Satybaldieva, University of Kent, UK

Walter Sánchez, University of Chile, Chile

Pushpa Thambipillai, University of Brunei Darassalam, Brunei


RC 18 welcomes suggestions for future programs, membership applications and paper proposals. Please contact:


Dr. Teh-Kuang Chang

Department of Political Science

Ball State University

Muncie, Indiana 47306



Telephone and Fax: +1 (765) 289-5628

Email:  tchang@bsu.edu



Dr. Teh-Kuang Chang, Chair

International Political Science Association

Research Committee on Asian and Pacific Studies (RC18)


Dr. Angelin Chang, Secretary

International Political Science Association

Research Committee on Asian and Pacific Studies (RC18)